Orange ain’t Purple, but it’s back

Orange Is The New Black, the Netflix show we most love to hate at BCN, is back for a fourth season this summer – and with three more seasons to go in the prison drama.

The programme – often abbreviated online to OITNB – has raised some bi hackles by having lots of behavioural bisexuality among the characters – yet never mentioning the “b” word.

Netflix announced this week that the comedy-drama series set in a women’s prison has been renewed for three additional seasons on Netflix. Season four of the series will premiere Friday, June 17 and additional seasons five, six and seven will premiere in future years. Seasons 1-3 are currently available on Netflix.

Further it was announced that creator and executive producer Jenji Kohan has committed to continue as Orange is the New Black’s executive producer and showrunner for seasons five, six and seven.

“Jenji and her team have produced a phenomenal and impactful series that is both funny and dramatic, outrageous and heartfelt. Audiences around the world have come to love the ladies and men of Orange is the New Black, and we are eager to see where three more seasons will take them,” said Cindy Holland, Vice President of Original Content at Netflix.

The acclaimed series stars a diverse and award-winning ensemble including Taylor Schilling, Uzo Aduba, Kate Mulgrew, Laura Prepon, Laverne Cox, Dascha Polanco, Danielle Brooks, Selenis Leyva, Samira Wiley, Taryn Manning, Yael Stone, Jackie Cruz, Lea DeLaria, Adrienne C. Moore and Elizabeth Rodriguez, Michael Harney and Nick Sandow. The series is based on the best-selling memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman.


Pictured: Samira Wiley & Jackie Cruz at the announcement of the new season of the show.

photo: Eric Charbonneau/Netflix